Vince Gill, John Prine, Dean Dillon, Tom T. Hall & More Earn Nominations for 2019 Songwriters Hall of Fame

November 8, 2018

The Songwriters Hall of Fame announced more than 20 nominees in two categories (performing and non-performing) for its Class of 2019, including a handful of country-centric songwriters.

Performing nominees include Vince Gill, John Prine, Mike Love, Jimmy Cliff, Jeff Lynne, Cat Stevens, Mariah Carey, Chrissie Hynde, Lloyd Price, Missy Elliott, Tommy James and the Eurythmics (Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart).

Non-performing nominees include Dean Dillon, Tom T. Hall, Jack Tempchin, Jerry Fuller, Roger Nichols and Dallas Austin, as well as songwriting duos P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri, Russell Brown and Irwin Levine, Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, Dean Pitchford and Michael Gore, Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham, and Bobby Hart and Tommy Boyce.

Six nominees will be inducted at the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s 50th Awards Gala in New York on June 13. Eligible members can vote for three non-performing songwriters and three performing songwriters through Dec. 17.

Country artists in the Songwriters Hall of Fame include Dolly Parton, Willie Nelson, Hank Williams, Kris Kristofferson, Garth Brooks, Toby Keith, Alan Jackson, Bill Anderson, Loretta Lynn and more.

photo by Tammie Arroyo,

Copyright ©2022 Crestview Broadcast Company. All Rights Reserved